Committee on Economic, Social, and Cultural Rights (CESCR)

The Committee on Economic, Social and Cultural Rights (CESCR), monitors implementation of the International Covenant on Economic, Social and Cultural Rights (1966). It recently adopted an Optional Protocol providing for an individual communications mechanism which has not yet entered into force.


The CESCR Committee has produced guidelines for the participation of NGOs in their work.



On 5 May 2013, the Optional Protocol to the ICESCR entered into force.  It provides for a communications mechanism allowing for individuals and groups of individuals to lodge complaints to the CESCR Committee upon exhaustion of domestic remedies in the State Party to the Optional Protocol, as well as provides for the possibility of the Committee opening an inquiry procedure into grave and systematic violations of provisions of the ICESCR for those States parties which have recognised this competence under Article 11 of OP-ICESCR.


IDA monitors the work of the CESCR Committe to ensure that the rights of persons with disabilities as they relate to economic, social and cultural rights are given due attention by the Committee. Additionally, IDA provides input into the elaboration of General Comments by the CESCR Committee. 


Here below you can find information about the recent session of the Committee on Economic, Social and Cultural Rights. For detailed information on past sessions of the Committee on Economic, Social and Cultural Rights, please click the link "View All Sessions" at the bottom of this page.

51st Session (November 2013)

Albania; Austria; Belarus; Belgium; Bosnia and Herzegovina; Djibouti; Egypt; Gabon; Kuwait and Norway


The Committee on the Economic, Social and Cultural Rights (CESCR Committee) met for its 51st session from 4- 29 November 2013.


More information on this session


Related documents:

Pre-Sessional Working Group:

The CESCR Committee also met for its pre-session in which it adopted the list of issues on Armenia, Czech Republic, El Salvador, Finland, Indonesia, Monaco, Nepal, Portugal, Serbia and Ukraine.


More information on this pre-sessional working group


Related documents:

The public sessions were webcast live and are now archived at


Forthcoming session:
52nd Session (28 April - 23 May 2013): China; China (Hong Kong); China (Macau); Czech Republic; El Salvador; Indonesia; Lithuania; Monaco; Portugal; Serbia; Ukraine and Uzbekistan