- June 15, 2022

Yesterday, at the Conference of States Parties to the CRPD, the elections for the CRPD Committee took place to elect 9 of the 18 members of the Committee on the Rights of Persons with Disabilities for the period 2023 to 2026.

The International Disability Alliance commends the nine candidates elected today, who are listed below in alphabetical order:

  • Mr. Muhannad Salah AL-AZZEH
  • Ms. Rehab Mohammed BORESLI
  • Ms. Gertrude Oforiwa FEFOAME
  • Ms. Amalia GAMIO RIOS
  • Ms. Laverne JACOBS
  • Ms. Rosemary KAYESS
  • Ms. Miyeon KIM
  • ​Mr. Alfred Kouadio KOUASSI
  • Mr. Markus SCHEFER

The International Disability Alliance also commends and thanks the other four candidates, which were not elected, for their interest and participation in the election.

  • Ms. Natalia Guala BEATHYATE
  • Ms. Sif HOLST
  • Mr. Stanislav Alexandrovich IVANOV 
  • Ms. Sanja SKENDERIJA

With these election results, the CRPD Committee’s composition for the period 2023 will include:

  • 11 female members and 7 male members
  • 15 members with disabilities and 3 other members
  • 6 members from Africa, 3 from Asia-Pacific, 0 from Eastern Europe, 4 from GRULAC and 5 from WEOG

The International Disability Alliance looks forward to continuing its collaboration with the Committee members that have renewed their mandates as well as those newly elected.

Thinking ahead to the next CRPD Committee elections in 2024, a challenge for States Parties and the international community is the promotion and election of candidates with disabilities from underrepresented groups such as persons with intellectual disabilities, persons with psychosocial disabilities, deaf persons, deaf-blind persons, indigenous persons with disabilities, among others.