- December 2, 2020

On November 30, during the Conference of States Parties to the CRPD, elections for the CRPD Committee took place. 9 of the 18 members of the
Committee on the Rights of Persons with Disabilities were elected for the period 2021-2024.
The great news is that gender parity was more than achieved. States Parties elected today five women and three men. The call by the Gqual Campaign, the  International Disability Alliance and the  International Disability and Development Consortium to achieve gender parity in our  joint statement  published 1 month ago has been responded by States Parties.

The International Disability Alliance commends the eight candidates elected today, who are listed below:

  • Ms. Rosa Idalia ALDANA SALGUERO (Guatemala)
  • Ms. Odelia FITOUSSI (Israel)
  • Mr. Floyd MORRIS (Jamaica)
  • Mr. Samuel KABUE (Kenya)
  • Ms. Gerel DONDOVDORJ (Mongolia)
  • Mr. Robert George MARTIN (New Zealand)
  • Ms. Soumia AMRANI (Morocco)
  • Ms. Vivian FERNÁNDEZ DE TORRIJO (Panama)

A 3 rd round should take place (on a date to be defined) for States to decide on the last candidate to be elected. The candidates participating in the 3 rd round are:

Ms. Saowalak THONGKUAY (Thailand)
Mr. Magino CORPORÁN LORENZO (Dominican Republic)