- December 16, 2020

On Friday 11th December, the 3rd round of elections to the CRPD Committee took place at the UN HQ in New York in the context of the Conference of States Parties to the CRPD for them to choose the last member of the CRPD Committee for the period 2021-2024. Ms. Saowalak THONGKUAY (Thailand) was elected. The International Disability Alliance commends now all the nine candidates elected, who are listed below:

  • Ms. Rosa Idalia ALDANA SALGUERO (Guatemala)
  • Ms. Odelia FITOUSSI (Israel)
  • Mr. Floyd MORRIS (Jamaica)
  • Mr. Samuel KABUE (Kenya)
  • Ms. Gerel DONDOVDORJ (Mongolia)
  • Mr. Robert George MARTIN (New Zealand)
  • Ms. Soumia AMRANI (Morocco)
  • Ms. Vivian FERNÁNDEZ DE TORRIJO (Panama)
  • Ms. Saowalak THONGKUAY (Thailand) 

You can find more information on the elected member in the website of the CRPD Committee on the election´s results and in the UNTB elections website.

The International Disability Alliance would also like express its appreciation to the out-going members for their contributions to the work of the CRPD Committee during their mandates:

  • Mr. Ahmad ALSAIF (Saudi Arabia)
  • Mr. Imed Eddine CHAKER (Tunisia)
  • Mr. Monthian BUNTAN  (Thailand)
  • Mr. Jun ISHIKAWA (Japan)
  • Mr. Lászlo Gábor LOVASZY (Hungary)
  • Mr. Martin Babu MWESIGWA (Uganda)
  • Mr. Dmitry REBROV (Russian Federation)