The Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations is a specialized agency of the United Nations that leads international efforts to defeat hunger. Serving both developed and developing countries, FAO acts as a neutral forum where all nations meet as equals to negotiate arguments and debate policy. 

Our goal is to achieve food security for all and make sure that people have regular access to enough high-quality food to lead active, healthy lives. With over 194 member states, FAO works in over 130 countries worldwide. We believe that everyone can play a part in ending hunger. 

Read more:


Inclusive social protection systems
FAO commits to giving special attention to the full inclusion of rural persons with disabilities in the design, implementation, monitoring and evaluation of social protection systems, by ensuring that social protection schemes target and effectively reach them, rural services are tailored to their special needs, and mechanisms exist to include them in complementary rural development interventions to enable their full participation as active members of society.

Timeframe and/or implementation plan: It is envisaged that the above commitment will be met by end 2020.          

Theme: Routes to Economic Empowerment
Year: 2018

FAO commits to integrating questions about the needs of persons with disabilities in its needs assessments, using the Washington Group Short Set of Questions where possible and appropriate according to the context. FAO also commits to moving towards disaggregating its monitoring and evaluation of humanitarian and resilience building projects to ascertain the impact of its interventions on persons with disabilities.

Timeframe and/or implementation plan: It is envisaged that the two above commitments will be met by end 2019.

Theme: Conflict and Humanitarian Contexts
Year: 2018