September 12, 2012 to September 14, 2012

The Fifth Session of the Conference of States Parties to the Convention on the Rights of Persons with Disabilities took place from 12 to 14 September 2012 at the UN Headquarters, in New York.

More information on this Conference.

Civil Society CRPD Forum

On 11 September 2012, IDA Co-chaired together with UN DESA, the Civil Society CRPD Forum (CSF), a full day event coordinated by IDA and its members, which was open to all other DPOs and NGOs committed to the implementation of the CRPD. The overall focus of this Forum was the High Level Meeting on Disability and Development which will take place in September 2013.

Related Documents:

Sessions of the Conference

Elections for the CRPD Committee

At this Session of the Conference of States Parties to the CRPD, 9 of the positions on the CRPD Committee were renewed: six of the initial twelve members (Ana Pelaez (Spain), Soledad Cisternas (Chile), Mohammed Al Tarawneh (Jordan), Amna Al Suwaidi (Katar), Monsur Choudhouri (Bangla Desh) and Jia Yang (China)) as well as three of the new members elected in 2010 (Silvia Quan (Guatemala), Gabor Gombos (Hungary) and Fatiha Hadj-Salah (Algeria)).

The elections were conducted by secret ballot. During the first round of the election, the following candidates got the required absolute majority and were elected as members of the CRPD Committee: Ms. María Soledad Cisternas Reyes (Chile), Ms. Ana Pelaez Narvaez (Spain), Ms. Diane Mulligan (United Kingdom), Ms. Safak Pavey (Turkey), Mr. Monthian Buntan (Thailand), Mr. László Gábor Lovászy (Hungary) and Ms. Silvia Judith Quan Chang (Guatemala). 
During the afternoon session, a second round was conducted to elect the final two members, who finally were: Mr. Martin Mwesigwa Babu (Uganda) and Mr. Mohammed Al-Tarawneh (Jordan).

As in the election processes of 2008 and 2010, IDA prepared a number of documents related to the nomination process of candidates for the CRPD Committee to inform about the election process and to give suggestions and advice to national DPOs on how to exert influence in the nomination process at national level.

For the second election process, IDA contributed to the process of selection of the CRPD Committee through a questionnaire which was sent to all candidates to the CRPD Committee and it was answered by more than half of them.

IDA did this same process for this election of the CRPD Committee as a way of contributing to a process that should be based on the quality of the candidates. This questionnaire also served as a tool at national level to be used in the assessment of the quality of different candidates.


  • Mr. Alexander Kellman (El Salvador)
  • Ms. Diane Mulligan (United Kingdom)
  • Mr. Martin Mwesigwa Babu (Uganda)
  • Ms. Silvia Quan (Guatemala)
  • Ms. Safak Pavey (Turkey)
  • Ms. Ana Peláez Narváez (Spain)
  • Mr. László Gábor Lovászy (Hungary) 
  • Mr. Isaú Joaquim Meneses (Mozambique)
  • Ms. María Soledad Cisternas Reyes (Chile)
  • Mr. Coomara Pyaneandee (Mauritius) 
  • Ms. Hatouma Gakou Djikine (Mali)
  • Ms. Sebenzile Matsebula (South Africa)
  • Mr. Danlami Basharu (Nigeria)
  • Mr. Moussa Housseini Katabani (Niger)

More information on the 2012 elections on the CRPD Committe´s website at:

Address: UN Headquarters New York

Skip google map

 UN Headquarters New York