May 15, 2017 - 3:00pm to June 2, 2017 - 3:00pm

The Committee on the Rights of the Child (CRC) is the body of 18 Independent experts that monitors implementation of the Convention on the Rights of the Child by its State parties. It also monitors implementation of two Optional Protocols to the Convention, on involvement of children in armed conflict and on sale of children, child prostitution and child pornography. On 19 December 2011, the UN General Assembly approved a third Optional Protocol on a communications procedure, which will allow individual children to submit complaints regarding specific violations of their rights under the Convention and its first two optional protocols. The Protocol entered into force in April 2014.

The Committee on the Rights of the Child opened its 75th session (15-May – 2 June 2017) in which it will be reviewing the States` reports on CRC implementation of Antigua and Barbuda, Bhutan, Cameroon, Lebanon, Mongolia, Qatar and Romania, as well as implementation of Optional Protocols to the CRC (including of United States of America).

The public meetings will be webcast live by the UN Office of Geneva.

According to the following schedule (all GVA time):

Tuesday, 16 May
10h00 - United States of America (Optional Protocol on sale of children)
15h00 - United States of America (Optional Protocol on the Involvement of Children in Armed Conflict)

Wednesday, 17 May
10h00 - Bhutan
15h00 - Bhutan

Thursday, 18 May
10h00 - Bhutan (Optional Protocol on sale of children and Optional Protocol on the Involvement of Children in Armed Conflict)
15h00 - Lebanon

Friday, 19 May
10h00 – Lebanon

Monday, 22 May
15h00 - Qatar

Tuesday, 23 May
10h00 - Qatar
15h00 - Romania

Wednesday, 24 May
10h00 - Romania

Friday, 26 May
10h00 - Mongolia
15h00 - Mongolia

Monday, 29 May
10h00 - Antigua and Barbuda
15h00 - Antigua and Barbuda

Tuesday, 30 May
10h00 - Cameroon
15h00 - Cameroon

Friday, 2 June
17h00 - Closing of Session

Go to the OHCHR Page on the 75 CRC Session.

See more by

Population group:

Address: Palais wilson 52 rue des pâquis ch-1201 Geneva, Switzerland.

Skip google map

 Palais wilson 52 rue des pâquis ch-1201 Geneva, Switzerland.