On the 13th of February, the International Disability Alliance (IDA) held an election for a new executive committee to lead the alliance towards the renewal, reinforcement and reaffirmation of its core principles and its strong commitment to transparency and accountability. The new leadership will continue to honouIDA’s mission to advance disability inclusion across the United Nations and globally, building on the trust and confidence of our valued members and partners. 

After the growth of the alliance’s work and programs, as well as multi-faceted review process aimed at strengthening the International Disability AllianceIDA is to implement a range of changes to help drive forward the organization for the years to come. As part of this new direction the IDA Board appointed a new Interim Executive Director after accepting the stepping down of the former Executive Director. It is with a spirit of collective ambition and shared values that we invite our stakeholders to join us on this journey of evolution and strengthening. 

IDA is determined through these changes temerge not only more resilient but also more attuned to the needs and expectations of persons with disabilities and their representative organizations. This commitment to growth and improvement underscores our role as a global advocate for disability rights and inclusion and the representative voice of the 1.3 billion persons with disabilities. 

The International Disability Alliance remains dedicated to working in partnership with all stakeholders to promote the rights of persons with disabilities worldwide. We are confident that together we can help bring about the societal transformation needed for the full inclusion of persons with disabilities in society on an equal basis with others. 

The composition of the new executive committee is as follows: 

President Mr. Nawaf Kabbara, Arab Organization of Persons with Disabilities 

First Vice-President Mr. Cato Lie, International Federation of Spina Bifida and Hydrocephalus 

Second Vice-President Mr. Latoa Halatau-Talagi, Pacific Disability Forum 

Treasurer Mr. Puay Tiak Lim, ASEAN Disability Forum   

Secretary-General Ms. Bridget Snedden, Down Syndrome International 

Executive Committee Members without portfolio, Ms. Sanja Tarczay (World Federation of the Deafblind) and Mr. Fernando Riaño (World Blind Union)

To download the Press Release in PDF format, click here.


For more details please contact: Nitya Agarwal, Senior Communications Officer, International Disability Alliance nagarwal [at]



See more by